Home » Uncategorized

Injured pianist Andsnes cancels Chicago date; Lars Vogt to sub with recital of Brahms, Bach

Submitted by on Jan 14, 2019 – 9:45 pm

Pianist Lars Vogt’s program for his Jan. 27 recital at Orchestra Hall includes Bach’s ‘Goldberg’ Variations. (Giorgia Bertazzi photo)

This Just In: The following is a news release written by an arts organization, submitted to and edited by Chicago On the Aisle.

The Symphony Center Presents Piano series announces that Lars Vogt will replace Leif Ove Andsnes for the series concert scheduled for Orchestra Hall on January 27 at 3 p.m. Andsnes’ management said that it is with enormous regret that he must cancel his upcoming U.S. tour, including the Chicago recital, due to an injury to his elbow.

Vogt returns to the Orchestra Hall stage for the first time since 2013 with a program that opens with two sets of short pieces from Brahms’ late period: Three Intermezzos, Op. 117, which have a melancholy lullaby character, and Four Piano Pieces, Op, 119, which are deeply introspective and create ambiguous harmonies and stammering rhythms. The second half of the program features Bach’s iconic Goldberg Variations, an inventive set of variations that serve as an encyclopedic survey of musical styles of the Baroque period.

Lars Vogt has established himself as one of the leading musicians of his generation. Born in the German town of Düren in 1970, he first came to public attention when he won second prize at the 1990 Leeds International Piano Competition and has enjoyed a varied career for more than 25 years.

Vogt has performed in recital and with many of the world’s great orchestras including the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris, Berlin Philharmonic, Vienna Philharmonic, New York Philharmonic, among others. He now is increasingly working with orchestras as a conductor, and in September 2015 he assumed the post as Music Director of Royal Northern Sinfonia at Sage Gateshead.

Tickets for the Symphony Center Presents Piano series are available at cso.org, via phone at 312-294-3000, or in person at the Symphony Center box office, 220 S. Michigan Ave.

Sunday, January 27, at 3 p.m.
Lars Vogt, piano
BRAHMS Three Intermezzos, Op. 117
BRAHMS Four Piano Pieces, Op. 119
BACH Goldberg Variations, BWV 988
Tickets: $29-$97

Leave a comment

Add your comment below. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.